

TOWN OF MATTAPOISETT Conservation Commission 16 Main Street P.O. Box 435 Mattapoisett, MA 02739

Phone: (508)758-4109

Fax: (508)758-3030

## MATTAPOISETT CONSERVATION COMMISSION 2009 ANNUAL TOWN REPORT

The Mattapoisett Conservation Commission is staffed by volunteer board members Chairman Tyler Macallister, Carmelo Nicolosi, Kenneth Dawicki, James O'Dowd, and Gary Brackins, Conservation Agent Rene Drouin and Secretary Marcia Perry.

The Commission was established to protect the town's natural resources in a regulatory and advisory manner. The Commission is responsible for environmental planning, accepting gifts of land and money for conservation purposes, acquiring grant money for town acquisition of open space, advising other town boards on environmental concerns, and administering the Massachusetts Wetland Protection Act (Mass. General Law Chapter 131, Section 40).

In 2009, the Commission issued 30 Orders of Conditions, 15 Determinations of Applicability, 8 Certificates of Compliance and 46 Informal Project Reviews.

Meetings are held the second and fourth Mondays of the month at 6:30 p.m. Meetings are open to the public and are held on the first floor of the Town Hall. Office hours are Tuesday and Thursday from 8:30 a.m. until 2:00 p.m.

OUTH