

The Mattapoisett River Valley Water District (District) was formed in 2004 to construct and operate the six million gallon per day (mgd) Mattapoisett River Valley Water Treatment Facility (MRVWTF). The District is comprised of the Towns of Fairhaven, Marion, Mattapoisett and Rochester. The treatment facility, located in Mattapoisett, began operations in 2008.

The MRVWTF treats raw water from eight municipal water supply wells owned and operated by the District Towns. The sources include three Mattapoisett wells, one Marion well, and four Fairhaven wells, which are located in Mattapoisett and Rochester. Treatment at the facility includes oxidation with ozone followed by membrane ultrafiltration with Koch membrane filters for the removal of iron and manganese. The finished water is treated to adjust the pH for corrosion control.

2018 represented the eleventh year of operation of the MRVWTF. The plant processed 710 million gallons of water during the year. The FY19 operating budget for the plant is \$2,052,132 which represents an increase of approximately 0.6% over FY18. The major expenses include power, labor, and chemicals to maintain and operate the MRVWTF. As of December, the District was finalizing a solar power Net Metering agreement with ECA Solar LLC which is anticipated to save the District \$20,000 to \$30,000 per year when fully operational. The District does not pay any capital or operating costs for the power and the generation facilities are located on commercial buildings located in Walpole, MA.

The MRVWTF operated well throughout the year. Routine annual maintenance and inspection was performed on major components of the MRVWTF. Evaluation of the high lift pumps indicated performance had declined, and two Fairhaven pumps were replaced.

As part of the Capital Improvement Plan, the District replaced components of the KOCH filters, gas meter for the ozone system, and one variable frequency drive. In addition, design continues to progress for replacement of the primary electric supply to the MRVWTF. The purpose of the project is to improve electric service reliability to the MRVWTF.

The District contracted Tata & Howard, Inc. to complete hydraulic modeling analysis of existing and proposed interconnections between the District Towns and surrounding communities, and complete evaluation of the hydraulic adequacy of the interconnections to transfer water between Towns in the event of an emergency. The report will provide recommendations for interconnection upgrades, if necessary.

Addition of new District representatives for the Towns of Fairhaven, Marion, and Rochester was required in 2018, due to the retirement of Alfred Raphael, Robert Zora, and Fred Underhill. The following members were appointed representing their respective Town: The Fairhaven Water Superintendent Jeffrey Furtado, Town of Marion Selectmen Randy Parker, and Rochester Water Commission Member Rick Charon. The District thanks all retirees for their many years of service and contributions.

The District received the Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection 2018 Beyond Compliance Public Water System Award. The District was recognized for being in complete compliance with state and federal drinking water regulations in 2017, and for also not having any violations within the past 5 years.

Respectfully submitted Mattapoisett River Valley Water District Commission

Town of Fairhaven Mark Rees Vincent D. Furtado Jeffrey Furtado Town of Marion Jonathan Henry David Pierce Randy Parker Town of Rochester Laurell Farinon Jeffrey Eldridge Rick Charon Town of Mattapoisett Paul Silva William Nicholson Henri Renauld