Local Cultural Councils 2022 Grants have been awarded to Mattapoisett





State Representative William M. Straus joins Mattapoisett Cultural Council in announcing the award of 22 grants totaling $11,200 for cultural programs in and around Mattapoisett.


Grant recipients include Mattapoisett Free Public Library, Mattapoisett Historical Society, Mattapoisett Land Trust, Mattapoisett Lions Club, Mattapoisett PTA, and Mattapoisett Recreation.  A complete list of recipients can be found below.


Mattapoisett Cultural Council is part of a network of Local Cultural Councils serving all 351 cities and towns in the Commonwealth, the largest grassroots cultural funding network in the nation, supporting thousands of community-based projects in the arts, sciences and humanities every year.


In 2022, Mattapoisett Cultural Council has once again received town financial support to supplement the state allocation and is fortunate to have both state and town funding. Creative arts, cultural, and science program offerings in our local region are thriving. Funding needs and requests have increased – the council considered 30 grant applications totaling over $27,000 this year and was disappointed to have to decline or reduce support for several worthwhile projects. Mattapoisett residents are deserving of the rich cultural experiences that the applicants provide.


Decisions about which projects and activities to support are made at the community level by council members Gary Brown, Carole Clifford, Kathleen Damaskos, Carol Dildine, Michael Eaton, Annemarie Fredericks, Joanna MacDonald Ingham, Barbara Poznysz, Bette-Jean Rocha, Gale Schultz, Sarah Thomas, and Donna Wingate.


“I continue to be a strong supporter of state funding for the arts and local cultural institutions, many of which depend on these grants, and I thank the Council members for their hard work in making sure these deserving organizations are supported,” said Rep. Bill Straus (D-Mattapoisett). 


This year's Mattapoisett Cultural Council grantees include:

Buzzards Bay Coalition

Edward L. Cope, Jr.

Jenny Dube

Danielle Marston

Mattapoisett Free Public Library

Mattapoisett Historical Society

Mattapoisett Land Trust Education Committee

Mattapoisett Lions Club

Mattapoisett PTA

Mattapoisett Recreation

New Bedford Festival Theatre

New Bedford Fishing Heritage Center

New Bedford Symphony Orchestra

Rotch-Jones-Duff House & Garden Museum

SEED, Inc.

Sippican Choral Society

South Coast Children’s Chorus

Roger L. Tincknell

Tri-County Symphonic Band

Kirk Whipple & Marilyn Morales

Matt York


The Mattapoisett Cultural Council will seek applications again in the fall.  Information will be available online at https://massculturalcouncil.org/communities/local-cultural-council-progr....